Flood

Many homeowners do not understand the importance of flood insurance and often underestimate flood risks. Additionally, many are not aware that a homeowner’s policy does not typically cover flood. The FAIR Foundation recommends that ALL homeowners should have flood insurance. The National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) provides coverage for many homes.  However, there are increasingly affordable options available in addition to purchasing coverage from the NFIP.

Contact your insurance agent for information about coverage options or to obtain a quote.

Helpful Questions to Ask your Insurance Agent

Ask the right questions so you can buy the flood coverage you need:

Does my homeowners insurance cover flood?
What flood zone do I live in? What is my property’s flood risk?

What will and won’t be covered?

How much coverage should I purchase for my building and for my contents?

When will my policy become effective?

Will my policy provide Replacement Cost Value or Actual Cash Value—and what’s the difference between the two?

Do I qualify for a Preferred Risk Policy (PRP)?

Does my community participate in the NFIP’s Community Rating System (CRS)? If so, does my home qualify for a CRS rating discount?

Is flood insurance mandatory for my property? Will the lender require it?

Are there additional expenses or agency fees?

How can I pay for my policy?

How do I renew my policy?

flood-insurance-drop-in-bucket-01

National Flood Insurance Program

For more information about the National Flood Insurance Program, please visit www.floodsmart.gov or call 1-888-FLOOD29 or (1-888-356-6329).

Flood Insurance Writers in Florida

Below is a list obtained from the Florida Office of Insurance Regulation (FLOIR). In addition to NFIP, the list shows insurance companies in Florida that are eligible to write primary or excess flood insurance outside of NFIP.

Primary Flood Writers

AIG Property Casualty Company – www.aig.com
American Integrity Insurance Company of Florida – www.aiicfl.com

American Strategic Insurance Corporation – www.americanstrategic.com

Centauri Specialty Insurance Company – www.centauriinsurance.com

Edison Insurance Company – www.edisoninsurance.com

Federal Insurance Company – www.chubb.com

Florida Peninsula Insurance Company – www.floridapeninsula.com

Homeowners Choice Property & Casualty – www.hcpci.com

Omega Insurance Company – www.thig.com

Progressive Property Insurance Company – www.progressive.com

Safe Harbor Insurance Company – www.safeharborflorida.com

Security First Insurance Company – www.securityfirstflorida.com
Southern Oak Insurance Company – www.southernoak.com

The Cincinnati Indemnity Company – www.cinfin.com

Tower Hill Preferred Insurance Company – www.thig.com

Typ Tap Insurance – www.typtap.com

Universal Insurance Company – www.universalnorthamerica.com

US Coastal Property & Insurance Company – www.uscoastal.com

Excess of NFIP Flood Writers

American Home Assurance Company – www.aig.com

American Strategic Insurance Corp. – www.americanstrategic.com

Bankers Insurance Company – www.bankersinsurance.com
Federal Insurance Company – www.chubb.com

Privilege Underwriters Reciprocal Exchange – www.pureinsurance.com

Wright National Flood Insurance Company – www.wrightflood.com

flood-coming-home

Surplus Lines Flood Writers (Primary Only)

Lloyds Underwriters – (c/o The Flood Insurance Agency in Gainesville, FL –www.thefloodinsuranceagency.com
Voyager Indemnity Insurance Company – www.assurantfloodsolutions.com/